Man Booker Prize makes history

Leave a comment

October 25, 2012 by dontbringlulubook

Author Hilary Mantel has been named 2012 winner of the Man Booker Prize for Fiction.

Her novel Bring up the Bodies, published by Fourth Estate, is the second in a historical fiction trilogy around the life of Thomas Cromwell. The first of the trilogy, Wolf Hall, won Hilary her first Man Booker Prize in 2009.

This is only the third time in the history of the Prize that an author has been a double-award winner; but the first for a woman and a British author. This year’s winner also breaks new ground as the first time that an author has been honoured for two successive books in the same trilogy.

Mantel, who receives £50,000 in prize money, is no stranger to the award, having been long listed in 2005 and was a judge in 1990. The Booker Prize was first awarded in 1969 to H P Newby, author of ‘Something to Answer For’. Since then, novelists from the United Kingdom, the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland have been honoured on an annual basis.

This year 145 books were laid before the judges, their task was ‘simple’ – choose one. Nine months later, with short-listed books being read and reread, the task was far from simple. A book was chosen above all others and with universal praise flooding in, the decision has been accepted by critics as well as the everyday reader.

Now the literary world waits with baited breath – will Hilary Mantel’s third book in trilogy make history on its’ release?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: