The Nobel Prize in Literature


October 16, 2012 by dontbringlulubook

Nobel Prize in Literature 2012

Nobel Prize in Literature 2012

This year’s winner of the Nobel Prize in literature has been named.

Chinese writer Mo Yan was praised by the Swedish Academy “who with hallucinatory realism merges folk tales, history and the contemporary” (“Mo Yan – Biographical”. 16 Oct 2012).

The naming of the 57 year old author, born Guan Moye in the Shandong province of China, has received mixed reactions throughout the world. Whereas some argue this author deserves the award, others believe it is pandering to the Communist controlled government.

The Nobel Prize in Literature was first awarded in 1901, dedicated to “the person who shall have produced in the field of literature the most outstanding work in an ideal direction”.

There have been seven occasions when this Prize was not awarded, including two years in the First World War and four years in the Second.


One thought on “The Nobel Prize in Literature

  1. […] Nobel Prize for Literature is also set to release a book in English for the first time.  Pow! by Mo Yan is due to be released with Seagull […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: